Back to top

External Advisory Committee

The CTSI-CN External Advisory Committee (EAC) is currently comprised of six outstanding clinical and translational scientists, including the Directors of three other CTSA hubs in the national network, a biotech company executive, and a patient advocate. Membership will be rotated every three years on a staggered basis, to ensure continuity, while providing for greater sharing of ideas and more comprehensive reviews than are generated by standing committees.

This Committee will assess the CTSI-CN’s progress in accelerating clinical and translational research and applications to improving child-health issues, as well as provide input on future directions. It will also assist the CTSI-CN in proactively positioning itself to consider new translational research initiatives and in providing an additional mechanism for enhancing linkages with other institutions in the CTSA Network.

EAC Member Affiliation Leadership Role
Mitchell Smith, MD, PhD  George Washington University  Co-Director, Clinical and Translational Science Institute at Children's National 
Edward Connor, MD, MBE, FAAP (Chair) Institute for Advanced Clinical Trials for Children Chairman, Board of Directors and President, I-ACT
Stephen Johnson, PhD Weill Cornell Medical College Professor of Healthcare Policy and Research
Carol Horowitz, MD Icahn School of Medicine at Mt. Sinai Co-Director, Center for Health Equity and Community Engaged Research, ConduITS
Jana Monaco Advocate Chair, CNHS Patient and Family Advisory Council
Dan Cooper, MD University of California, Irvine Founding Director of the Institute for Clinical Translational Science; 
Program Director of the UC Irvine Clinical Research Center
Anantha Shekhar, MD, PhD Indiana University School of Medicine Associate Vice President of Research, and University Clinical Affairs
Harry Selker MD, MSPH Tufts University Executive Director, Institute for Clinical Research and Health Policy Studies (ICRHPS);
Pratt Diagnostic Center Primary Care Physician;
Dean, Clinical and Translational Science Institute